Precincts
Specialized Units
Press Releases
Information / Policies
Frequently Asked Questions
In Memoriam
Contact Us
Suffolk County Home
Link to the page for information about becoming a Police Officer
Informacion en Espanol
 

Image of prospective recruits for the Police Department


ACCREDITED LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

An Equal Opportunity Employer


The Next Police Exam is Scheduled For June 13, 2015
Last Date for Filing is April 01, 2015

Click HERE to Apply

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS

Age
Minimum age: 19 years on the date of the written test to be eligible for appointment.
Maximum age: 34 years on the date of the written test.
(Applicants with active military duty, as defined in Section 243 (10-a) of the New York State Military Law, may deduct up to six years from their age to meet the maximum age requirement).

Education
Graduation from a standard senior high school or possession of a high school equivalency diploma recognized by the New York State Department of Education, by the date of appointment. (No college required for appointment)

 

License Requirement
Possession of a valid New York State operator’s or chauffeur’s license at the time of appointment.

Written Examination
Candidates who attain a reachable passing grade will have to pass the following qualifying tests and evaluations: Medical, Personality Assessment, Polygraph, Extensive Background Check &
Physical Fitness Screening.

Citizenship
Candidate must be a NY State resident and a US citizen at time of appointment
.

An equal opportunity employer  
 
SALARY & BENEFITS

SALARY
Starting salary $42,000* annually, increasing incrementally to $111,506 after twelve (12) years of service.
*Under 2012 labor agreement


BENEFITS
Full salary and benefits during entire training period.

Night shift payments.

All uniforms and equipment are supplied by the Department.

Yearly uniform cleaning allotment

Paid family dental, optical and medical plans.

Thirteen (13) paid holidays.


Fifteen (15) paid vacation days first year of service, increasing to twenty-seven (27) days after five (5) years of service

Thirteen (13) sick days first year of service, increasing to twenty-six (26) days after the first three (3) years of service; Unused sick days are cumulative

Three (3) paid personal days first year of service, increasing to five (5) days after three (3) years of service.

*Pension plan. Members are eligible for retirement after twenty (20) years of service at 50% of five (5) year final average salary. Vested retirement plan after ten (10) years.

   

 

Link to the page for information about becoming a Police Officer Join SCPD on Facebook SCPD TV SCPD on Twitter Headquarters Alerts